top of page

Amy Beach

Amy Beach was the first American female musician to ever publish a symphony. Her Gaelic Symphony, composed in 1896, features in our Music for an Autumn Afternoon Concert on Saturday 19 November at AKS Lytham. With a full romantic harmonic structure and a glimpse of the horizons of modern music, Beach's symphony set her apart as a prominent female composer at the turn of the twentieth century.

As founder of the American Society for Woman Conductors she would have been delighted to see her work conducted by a female conductor, Helen Harrison.


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page